Get Hundreds of Twitter Followers for Free
Find out how other people are getting hundreds of Twitter followers the fast and free way. Sign up for the free Twitter guide.

How to Delete Your Direct Messages on Twitter With 1 Click Using Social Oomph

How to Delete Your Direct Messages on Twitter With 1 Click Using Social Oomph
55 Flares Twitter 35 Facebook 6 Google+ 5 Pin It Share 9 55 Flares ×

Have you ever wondered if there was a way to delete all of your Twitter direct messages with just one click?

Are you getting a lot of spam messages in your direct message inbox and you want to just clean it out, once and for all?

Sometimes when you follow people, like I show you in the free guide to getting thousands of Twitter followers, you end up following someone that sends you an auto-direct message that you just don’t want.

You would think that there must be a way to delete ALL of your direct messages at once using Twitter but there isn’t.

However, there is a free 3rd party app that you can use to do this for you.

You’ll find out all the details in just a minute but before we go any further, here are 3 reasons why you might want to delete all of your direct messages:

1. You get a lot of spam messages from Twitter spammers and you want to clear your inbox

2. You replied to all of your direct messages and you want to use your direct message inbox as a notification system of when you receive new messages

3. You’ve never cleaned our your inbox before and you have hundreds of messages that are cluttering up your inbox

I use my direct message inbox as a notification system to let me know of messages that I haven’t replied to yet.

Everyday, I reply to people who have direct messaged me and after I’m done, I delete all of the remaining direct messages.

Most of the direct messages that I receive consist of spam, people trying to sell me something that I haven’t solicited, a boring automated direct message, etc.

Even if you don’t want to clean out all of your direct messages, this web app will give you options to delete direct messages older than 7 days or 30 days in case you want to hold on to your more recent messages.

How to Delete Your Twitter Direct Messages

1. Head on over to Social Oomph and sign up for a free account. Social Oomph is a web app that helps you manage your social media accounts.

They have both a free and paid version.  What I’m showing you today works on both the free and paid versions.

2. Once you’ve signed up, log in to your account where you will see a menu like this.

Click on Posting in the top menu and then on Purge DMs on Twitter from the drop down menu.

SocialOomph Menu

3.  Next you’ll be taken to the screen like the one below.

Choose your Twitter account from the drop down menu, choose whether you want to delete DMs older than 7 days or older than 30 days, check the Agreement checkbox, and finally click on the Perform Action button.

Purge DM SocialOomph

 

4.  You’ll get a warning message telling you that the purge is permanent.  Click Ok to continue.

5.  You’ll get a confirmation message telling you that the purge is complete.

confirmation message SocialOomph

That’s it!  You can now enjoy a clutter-free direct message inbox :-).

You might also want to check out this blog post about how to get more Twitter followers than people you’re following or how to follow hundreds of people in less than 5 minutes. 

 

55 Flares Twitter 35 Facebook 6 Google+ 5 Pin It Share 9 55 Flares ×
Peter Guirguis

Peter Guirguis

I'm the Technology Manager of Calvary Chapel South Bay, a church in Gardena, California. My passion is to see people give their life to Christ both online and offline. I've created the free guide to getting thousands of Twitter followers to show ordinary people how to get extraordinary results on Twitter.
Peter Guirguis
Peter Guirguis
  • Maisaa

    in step : purge DM ..nothing shown in select an entry box even can not enter the twitter account

    • http://notashamedofthegospel.com/ Peter Guirguis

      Can you please try reconnecting your Twitter account with Social Oomph?

      • Joshua Esturas

        how to delete MY messages in DM.

        in purge DM. it only deletes the messages i’ve received.

        • http://notashamedofthegospel.com/ Peter Guirguis

          I’m sorry Josh, I’m not sure I understand your question. Can you please elaborate?

        • Christian Verano

          Social Oomph only deletes the DMs you’ve received. Not the once you sent.

          • http://notashamedofthegospel.com/ Peter Guirguis

            Chris, do a delete of your DM’s through Social Oomph and then go to Twitter and view the DM’s between you and a person you’ve DM’ed before. You should notice that all of their DMs to you and all of your DM’s to them are gone.

  • Pingback: Why Every Christian Should Follow Back People on Twitter

Divider
55 Flares Twitter 35 Facebook 6 Google+ 5 Pin It Share 9 55 Flares ×
Google Analytics Alternative